Introduction to Philosophy textbook

books

My philosophy professor from college, Dr. Steven B. Cowan, has a new book coming out with James Spiegl of Taylor U.  It is a christian intro to philosophy textbook entitled The Love of Wisdom. If the content in the book is anything like Dr. Cowan’s lectures, then I am sure that it will be a very helpful and engaging work.

12 Responses to Introduction to Philosophy textbook

  1. Curt says:

    I am going to purchase the book in April. I’m looking forward to reading it.

  2. Clinton says:

    Hey Curt…thanks for stopping by. It should be a great book. How did you hear about it?

  3. Curt says:

    Hi Clinton,

    I was looking for a philosophy book from a Christian perspective and I found out about it while doing a search on Amazon.com.

  4. Clinton says:

    Curt, not to discourage you from checking out Cowan and Spiegl’s book, which I am sure will be excellent, but you may also want to consider Moreland and Craig’s philosophy intro entitled Foundations for a Christian Worldview. It is a good one!

  5. Curt says:

    Hi Clinton,

    I have that book by Moreland and Craig and I think it is excellent.

  6. Fraiser says:

    Do we really need another Christian intro? What is this going to say that isn’t already in the others? Perhaps I would be surprised, but I’m not hopeful. I think that evangelicals often put out so many intros because they aren’t involved in more serious scholarship. They often just take what others say and then distill it for a more popular audience. That’s fine to do, but that’s usually where evangelicals stop. It’s bland. It’s uncreative. It’s enough already.

  7. Clinton says:

    Hi Fraiser. Thanks for stopping by! Both Cowan and Spiegel have published in prestigious peer-reviewed Journals such as Cambridge University Press, among others. So, they are in fact engaged in serious academic work…regardless of what other evangelical scholars are or are NOT doing. Moreover, Spiegel is an evangelical that has done a lot of work in aesthetics, which is an area often neglected among evangelicals (esp. Southern Baptists…as you would probably confirm).
    BTW, did you ever run across Adam McClendon at SBTS? When did you graduate?

    -Clint

  8. Clinton says:

    Frasier,

    I meant to ask you this in my prior response…how do you like St. Louis? I am considering doing some work in historical theology at SLU. Your thoughts would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Clint

  9. Fraiser says:

    Clint,

    I have heard Spiegel lecture on aesthetics a couple of times and was impressed. I’ve looked at his written works on aesthetics as well and thinks it is excellent stuff. I did not mean to impugn his work as a serious scholar (though I can understand how someone could think that I was doing this). I should have said it this way:

    It bothers me that so many intros on so many subjects are put out by evangelicals. The fact that much of evangelical scholarship is highly parasitic on the larger academy is largely to blame for this. They need to focus more on original academic work.
    It would be nice to see Spiegel and Cowan investing their energies into shoring up the deficiencies of evangelical scholarship rather than doing the same old things that are out there. I leave open the door that this could be an especially good intro that fills an important need, but I am not hopeful that this will be the case.

    Even if you still don’t agree, I appreciate you helping me to be clearer about what I’m saying.

    No I never met Adam McClendon. I graduated in ’06. Perhaps he was there at a different time or we didn’t overlap by much.

    SLU is a great school for historical theology. I’ve met a couple of their grad students and they are strong (protestant) scholars. The theology school is quite robustly Catholic but they are serious about involving protestant theological scholarship.

    Keith,

    You’ve given me your opinion, but you left out any reason why I should take it as my own. You are welcome to disagree with my assessment, but I’m sure that you lack the relevant information about me and what I know to attribute it to my ignorance of the subject at hand. I know the landscape of evangelical scholarship (particularly in philosophy) quite well. So if we disagree it is for reasons other than that you are familiar with the landscape and I am not.

  10. Curt says:

    I have the book and I started to read it. It has been good so far. It doesn’t cover as much material as the philosophy book by Moreland and Craig, but the book does cover political philosophy and aesthetics, which are not covered by Moreland and Craig’s book.

    Clinton: Are you a philosophy major? I didn’t major in philosophy when I was in college, but I did take four philosophy courses. (This was at a secular college.) I had the same instructor for each course and he would not give his opinions about anything.

  11. [...] A Symposium of Philosophy, Theology, and Scripture. Home · Clinton · Keith · Xavier · Introduction to Philosophy textbook. books. My philosophy professor from college, Dr. Steven B. Cowan, has a new book coming out with James Spiegl of …Continue [...]

  12. Clinton says:

    Hey Curt,

    Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. This week has been slammed for me. I did quite a bit of studies in my undergrad. degree in philosophy of religion and ethics (I studied with Steve Cowan), but I am now working on an M.A. in NT at Denver Seminary. My future plans are to apply to a bunch of strong PhD programs with an eye towards teaching at the college level.

    -Clint

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

