Thanks Dr. McKnight!

A few weeks ago, I asked Dr. Scot McKnight, professor of New Testament at North Park University, a question I deeply struggle with that has been floating around in my mind for some time now.  Here is his answer.

2 Responses to Thanks Dr. McKnight!

  1. Daniel says:

    I liked this quote: “If you learn to think about the Bible apart from your faith you will soon learn how to live without your faith.”

    There is also a really good dialogue between McKnight and another guy on the comments section. I would recommend checking that out too!

  2. Clinton says:

    Here is my reply to his letter:

    Scot,

    Thank you so much for treating this question. It has been good to read some of the perspectives of others in the comments as well.

    I have seen many Protestant students who “drop out” of church when they start seminary. Largely, they see church as JUST a community, and it is thus not a problem for them to quit attending church when they begin attending seminary. They have just made a switch from one Christian community to another.
    This seems really dangerous to me. First, the Church needs the presence of learning, thinking Christians. Second, how can the body BE the body when its constituent parts are separating themselves for a season? Third, the church is a vital laboratory facilitating immediate application of subject matter learned in the seminary setting. I have learned these tenets largely due to the fact of my absence from the church in college and my presence in the church now in seminary.
    I totally agree with the idea that scholarship is to end with love of God and love of others. I guess, my own struggle is to get past the idea that I can serve others better if I just learn more (in isolation). In college I figured I would wrap myself into an intellectual cocoon and emerge a vibrant scholar ready to equip students to eternity. Perhaps to learn is not to be isolated, but to be stretched into a holistic learning process; one that involves academic inquiry, personal interaction/intimacy, and a thoroughgoing commitment to being a part of God’s people in the present. Living into this reality is a struggle in itself.
    Well, Greek is calling, but again I cannot stress how much I appreciate your time in helping myself and others process through this question. Perhaps I will be able to talk with you a little more next week at ETS?

    By His Grace
    Clinton

Leave a Reply

