Calvinist Pastor Burns “free-will” offerings…

You really owe it to yourself to read this story.  Apparently, the pastor realized the paradox of calling the church offering “free-will offerings” and physically burned them, since they were “Lucifer’s collection” (by the way, the offering was initially collected for a visiting choir group from Liberty Univ.).  From here on out at Hartford Community Church the offering collection will be referred to as “election collections.”

9 Responses to Calvinist Pastor Burns “free-will” offerings…

  1. Michael says:

    Please, please tell me that’s not a joke. I’ve found my church home after so long.

  2. Keith says:

    Stunning. Unbelievable. Disappointing.

    Besides my immediate reaction (described above), here are three secondary reactions:

    (1) Uh, Jeremy, that’s illegal, at least according to the Bureau of Engraving and Printing: (http://www.moneyfactory.gov/document.cfm/18/104).

    (2) I agree with Jerry Falwell?!?

    (3) How ironic: He says, ” It just goes to show you how wily Satan can be in spreading false teachings.” Go figure.

  3. Clinton says:

    Yeah, I was in total shock when I read this story. And along with you Keith, I found myself very surprised that I agreed with Ol’ Jerry on this issue.

  4. Daniel says:

    Ummmm, wow. Despite the lameness of trying to explain the entire Arminian/Calvinism debate in one paragraph, this story was pretty hilarious….and sad.

    Why do all these “fringe pastors” always have to be Calvinists? Johnny C would roll in his grave….. predestined to do that before the creation of the Universe of course…..

    P.S.—I’m glad Falwell sent him a letter. He burned the money for the offering! If everyone leaves the church because of this he will just say God ordained it this way. And with no fault of his own…. however ridiculous and naïve of a fault it was. The parishioners quotes were hilarious, and true.

  5. Jacob says:

    Funny story. However, as the disclaimer says at the bottom of the page, most stories on that website are fabricated and should not be taken seriously. Breath strong, fellows: there is no reason to think you actually agreed with Jerry Falwell.

  6. Keith says:

    WHEW! Let’s hope this is one of the fabricated ones!

  7. Clinton says:

    Yes, I think it is indeed fabricated. I read the disclaimer and did some research on the website and it appears that this website is basically a religious version of “The Onion.”

  8. Daniel says:

    It wouldn’t surprise me if something like this has happened at a Calvinist church though!

  9. Jason Dollar says:

    It was foreordained that I post a comment here, so I did.

Leave a Reply

