War! What is it good for? Absolutely…

January 27, 2007

Admittedly, I do not keep up with the War in Iraq as many people do. With that said, I have a few questions* that I would like to bounce off of anyone willing to engage them.

1) Is the War in Iraq justified? What criterion are we to use (just war, etc.)?

2) What is it that we are fighting for?

3) Are our efforts really worth it?

I ask these questions because I heard someone raise a very thought-provoking point the other day. Generally, it seems that one reason we are fighting is to protect the present and future state of our nation (there are other reasons left unsaid). But is what we have worth fighting for from a Kingdom of God perspective? Has the American Dream eclipsed our Kingdom mission? While I enjoy having the things that I am privy to as an American, are we promised them? Are they necessary? Are they worth fighting for?

*These questions by nature are over-simpifying. There are many other relevant issues to which we do not have access.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.